Tuesday, 24 April 2018

New Don't you Dare - Pre-Order and read the Opening!

Don't you Dare is available on Amazon to PRE-ORDER now
Release date: May 8th

A heart-stopping psychological thriller!

What readers are saying about Don't You Dare:


I loved every twisty word in this thriller. Absolutely brilliant!”  Steven D – Goodreads Reviewer

“Wow! What a twist! This incredible psychological thriller has a conclusion that truly shocked and surprised me.”  Robin Taylor – Goodreads reviewer

"A brilliant read, an excellent plot, a wonderfully enjoyable book" Nicki Murphy - Nicki's Book Blog

"A compelling read" Donna Bradley - NetGalley Reviewer

"...really gripping and held my attention from the beginning to end" Ella Star - NetGalley Reviewer

This book explores the dark side of a mother-daughter relationship when pushed to the limit and will appeal to fans of authors like Ruth Ware, Clare Mackintosh and C.L. Taylor.

Here's the opening:
~ Chapter One ~
Rachel
Wednesday evening, March 8
I knew something was wrong the moment I slipped the key into the lock. 
       A light was visible through the keyhole. I teased the door open a fraction and stopped dead. The fluorescent strip light wasn’t the source, instead there was a dim glow at the far end of the cellar. I edged the door open another couple of inches with my foot, holding it firm against the self-closing spring. The beam was coming from behind the empty stainless-steel kegs stacked on the floor under the trap door. Was there a cleaner here with a mop? The landlord fixing a leak? It couldn’t be. The landlord was in Marbella and the pub had been shut for nearly two weeks for refurbishments. No one had keys but me. There was only one explanation. An intruder must have got in and was snooping around with a torch. 
      I stood frozen on the top step, torn about what to do. If I backed out now I’d attract attention – the door always made a juddering sound when it closed. If I called the police from where I stood, I might be overheard. I had my eyes fixed on the light the whole time, hardly daring to blink, waiting for the beam to bob around to see which direction the burglar was moving in. Except the light didn’t move.  
       A man groaned, then came a scuffle, then a woman whimpering.
       ‘No. Let me go…get your filthy hands off me!’ 
       Beth. 
       I didn’t need to hear anymore. I knew my daughter’s voice anywhere and could tell instantly what was going on. In that split second, my mind was on one thing and one thing alone. 
       I hurried down the remaining steps, not caring if I made a noise. I found Beth half-naked, shivering, her hair roughed up in a black tangle as a man I’d never seen before leant over her, his trousers down, gripping her struggling torso from behind.
      ‘No…no…stop!’ she yelled. 
       I rushed towards the pair of them, no words forming in my mouth, instead letting out a primaeval scream that must have sounded like a tortured horse. Something terrible was happening to my daughter and I had to save her. Rescue her from the brute who was forcing himself on her, his hands on her bare back, shoving her over a wooden chair. I charged at the figure as he straightened up. Bastard. My reaction came from a place of outrage, of maternal protection, from a gushing surge of rage and horror. I was doing what any mother would have done without a second’s thought.   
       I’m strong. I carry kegs and crates down to the pub cellar every day and when I’m on a mission, there’s no stopping me. 
       I threw myself at him, lashed out with my tight fists. His face was caught in an expression of dumb surprise and he was off balance, his legs trapped by the trousers caught around his ankles. He toppled backwards and there was a loud crack as his head struck against the protruding tap on a full cask of pale ale. Then he went down. 
      I thought I was saving Beth. I thought I was doing the right thing. I stormed in to save my daughter from being raped. Only I got it all wrong. Badly wrong. And now a man I’ve never met is lying dead a few inches from my feet.

 ~
More about the book coming soon...

Don't miss any updates. CLICK to join AJ Waines' Newsletter 
for book giveaways and updates on her new releases!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~   

AJ Waines is a No 1 International Bestelling Author
All books can be read in any order 
(including Inside the Whispers (Bk 1) and Lost in the Lake (Bk 2) which are also in a series)
  •  Over 450,000 books sold worldwide
  • Girl on a Train  #1 Bestseller on Kindle in UK and Australia (2015 & 2016) 
  • No Longer Safe  #1 in 'Crime Noir' [30,000 sold in the first month]
Awarded Kindle KDP Top 10 'most-read Author' in UK 2016 & 2017